Professor teaching a class.

Information for Faculty & Staff

The Office of the Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs is responsible for the oversight of curricular development for undergraduate education, and for convening appropriate groups to assist with the implementation of academic policy, curricular proposals, and initiatives to enhance the academic experience.

Undergraduate Admissions »

The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring

The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring was established through a generous gift by the late UB President Emeritus Martin Meyerson and his wife, Margy Ellen, to recognize exceptional teaching and mentoring at the university. Faculty members who exemplify these qualities are foundational to the University at Buffalo and its academic mission. They provide the guidance and support needed to help undergraduate students develop the skills necessary for not only research and creativity but also for critical thinking and innovation. Like the Myersons, we believe that the best undergraduate creative experiences are collaborative, encourage student autonomy and responsibility and create strong mentoring relationships with faculty. The Meyerson Award is the highest university award given specifically for undergraduate mentoring.

This award sets the bar for faculty excellence in helping our undergraduates reach their full potential as young scholars, and launching their future careers. In addition to their involvement with students, mentors are leaders within their own departments, extending beyond professional duties to engage other faculty and students in meaningful collaboration and initiatives. A common theme among successful faculty mentors is that their mentoring experiences are as impactful to them as they are for their students.

Faculty may be nominated for the award by students, faculty colleagues and/or university administrators. Individuals selected for the award will be recognized during UB’s annual Celebration of Student Academic Excellence, which will be held on Thursday, April 23, 2015. Please encourage your colleagues to nominate faculty who distinguish themselves as outstanding mentors. The process for nominations is described below. Nominations will be accepted through January 15, 2015.


Nominations for The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring are accepted from all faculty/staff and students. To nominate, please submit one paragraph (500 word max.) that explains in detail the positive impact the faculty mentor has made on student research, achievement, and experiences. If you are a student nominator, discuss the positive impact working with this professor has made on your research, introduction into your field, and if applicable, interest in furthering your education. Additionally, describe any skills or methods you learned that will propel you in your career, any opportunities for professional growth, such as attending or presenting at a conference or artistic venue, and the overall impact on you as a student. If you are faculty/staff member, describe the ways in which this faculty member has embraced undergraduate student path to discovery, the imprint made on their students, contributions above and beyond typical faculty responsibilities, and developed high quality research or creative opportunities for students.

Andrew McConnell Stott
Dean of Undergraduate Education
Director of the Honors College
Professor of English

Nomination Form — Faculty Award for Excellence in
Mentoring Undergraduates in Research and Creative Activity

Deadline — January 15, 2015

All fields MUST be completed.

I Am Nominating:



  (format 999-999-9999)


About The Nominator:



  (format 999-999-9999)

UB Student  Faculty  Staff  Alumni  Other 

  (please describe)

  (Students, Faculty, and Staff only)

  (Students only)

  (Students only)

My Nomination:





Last updated: October 28, 2014 3:26 pm EST

2014 Award Recipients

The recipients of The President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring were recognized for the contributions to undergraduate research and creative activities. The 2014 honorees are:

  • Dr. Stephen Free, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Rajendram Rajnarayanan, Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Professor Beth Tauke, Associate Dean, School of Architecture and Planning
    Associate Professor, Department of Architecture, and Project Director in the Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access (IDEA)